Key points
- TPD stands for total and permanent disability. The cover pays a one-off lump sum, not an ongoing income.
- Whether a claim pays turns on the policy’s definition of disability, not on how sick or injured you are.
- Own occupation pays if you cannot work in your own job. Any occupation pays only if you cannot work in any job you are suited to.
- Since 1 July 2014, only an any-occupation definition can be bought inside superannuation, because the policy has to line up with the permanent incapacity condition of release in the SIS Regulations.
- Own-occupation policies held inside super before that date are grandfathered, and that creates a specific trap covered below.
Most Australians with superannuation already hold some TPD cover, usually a default amount they never chose and have never read the terms of. It sits in the background, unread, until something serious happens, and then the fine print decides everything.
The amount is rarely the problem. The definition is.
What TPD insurance is
TPD insurance pays a single lump sum if illness or injury leaves you permanently unable to work. It exists for the situation where you are not going back, so the money has to do several jobs at once: clear a mortgage, fund medical and rehabilitation costs, modify a home or vehicle, and replace decades of income that will now never be earned.
That is what separates it from its neighbours:
- Income protection replaces a portion of your income month by month while you cannot work. It is designed for recovery.
- Trauma cover pays a lump sum on diagnosis of a specified condition, whether or not you can work.
- TPD pays a lump sum when work is permanently over.
The three are complementary rather than alternatives. We cover how the first two fit together in our guide to income protection and TPD cover, and trauma insurance has its own article.
Own occupation or any occupation
This is the part that decides claims, and it is the part almost nobody checks.
| Own occupation | Any occupation | |
|---|---|---|
| Pays when | You cannot work in your own occupation | You cannot work in any occupation you are suited to |
| Test | Narrower, easier to satisfy | Broader, much harder to satisfy |
| Typical cost | Higher premium | Lower premium |
| Available inside super | No, for policies from 1 July 2014 | Yes |
A surgeon who loses fine motor control in one hand is the standard illustration. Under an own-occupation policy she cannot operate, so she claims. Under an any-occupation policy she may still be capable of lecturing, consulting or medical administration, so she may well not claim, even though her career as she knew it has ended.
The gap between those two outcomes is the entire value of the distinction. Anyone whose income depends on a specific, highly trained skill should know which definition applies to them before they need it, not after.
The 2014 change inside super
Before 1 July 2014, super funds could hold own-occupation TPD. They no longer can for new cover.
The reason is structural rather than commercial. Money can only leave superannuation when a condition of release is met, and the relevant one here is permanent incapacity, defined in the SIS Regulations by reference to any occupation the member is reasonably qualified for by education, training or experience. A policy paying on a narrower test would put money into the fund that the member then could not access. So insurance held inside super now has to align with that condition.
Policies in force before the change are grandfathered and can stay inside super. That sounds like good news and carries a real catch.
The grandfathering trap. If you hold pre-2014 own-occupation TPD inside super, you can satisfy the insurer’s definition, have the claim admitted, and still find the money stuck. The insurer pays the trustee, but the trustee can only release it if you also meet the permanent incapacity condition of release, which uses the broader any-occupation test. Claim admitted, benefit unreachable, sitting in super until another condition of release is met. Anyone still holding one of these arrangements should have it reviewed rather than assume the grandfathering is a straightforward win.
Inside super or outside
Holding TPD inside superannuation is common because it is convenient and cash-flow friendly. It also has costs that are easy to miss.
Why people hold it inside super
- Premiums come from the super balance, not the household budget, which makes cover affordable when cash flow is tight.
- Often cheaper, because large funds negotiate group rates an individual cannot match.
- Frequently automatic, so people who would never get around to applying are covered anyway.
What it costs
- The premiums erode retirement savings. The money is still being spent; it is just being spent out of a balance you will need later.
- Only the any-occupation definition is available for new cover, which is the harder test.
- Tax can apply. A benefit paid through super can carry a taxable component depending on your age and the make-up of the payment, where a personally held policy generally pays out tax free.
- Default cover is rarely the right amount. It is set by the fund, not by your mortgage, your dependants or your income.
Some people end up with a deliberate split: an any-occupation base layer inside super for affordability, topped up outside super where the definition and the amount can be chosen properly. Which combination works depends on your occupation, your debts, your dependants and your super balance, which is a conversation rather than a rule.
Where claims come unstuck
The pattern in declined and disputed claims is consistent, and the causes are mostly avoidable:
- The definition was never checked. The claimant assumed own occupation and held any occupation.
- Non-disclosure at application. Medical history omitted when the policy was taken out, surfacing years later at claim time.
- Cover lapsed without notice. Inactive super accounts can have insurance switched off, and consolidating funds cancels the cover attached to the account you close. If your health has changed since the cover started, replacing it may not be possible on the same terms. Check this before you combine super accounts.
- The waiting period was misunderstood. TPD claims usually require a qualifying period of continuous absence from work before the permanence test is even assessed.
- The amount was never revisited. Default cover set a decade ago against a mortgage that has since doubled.
None of these are dramatic. They are administrative, and they are the reason a policy someone has paid for over many years does not do what they expected.
Talk to us about your cover
Three questions settle most of this: which definition your policy uses, whether the amount reflects what your family would actually need, and whether holding it inside super is helping or quietly costing you.
Our insurance advice team reviews existing cover as part of a broader look at your superannuation and financial plan, including cover you may already hold inside super without knowing the terms. Book a free initial discussion if you would like to know what you are actually covered for.